I’m a huge Prince fan so I am very excited to hear about the Prince album coming out on July 30th. It’s a previously unreleased album that was recorded in 2010 at Prince’s Paisley Park Studio. It’s called “Welcome 2 America”. It documents Prince’s , quote, “concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society”, according to ET.  In the title track, Prince rants about social media, reality TV celebrity culture, and corporate monopolies.

46th Annual Grammy Awards - Show
Frank Micelotta, Getty Images

Prince is one of the most talented human beings in my opinion. This will be a real treat for all Prince fans, coming five years after his death. I’m not sure why it was placed in the vault shortly after it was completed. I’m sure there are a ton of treasures in that vault just waiting to be gifted to the artist's many fans.

It was announced on Twitter Thursday morning and now Prince fans are bursting with excitement. The Twitter post read, “Prince's enigmatic and prescient statement album #Welcome2America will be released July 30, 2021, by The Prince Estate and @SonyLegacyRecs. The Deluxe Edition includes the previously unreleased studio album and a full 2011 Prince concert at @TheForum on Blu-ray."

Also on Twitter, “Recorded in 2010 before the Welcome 2 America Tour, the studio album #Welcome2America documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice."

The album includes a cover of Soul Asylum's "Stand Up and B Strong”, as well as these 11 original Prince songs:

  • Welcome 2 America
  • Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  • Born 2 Die
  • 1000 Light Years From Here
  • Hot Summer
  • Check The Record
  • Same Page, Different Book
  • When She Comes
  • 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  • Yes
  • One Day We Will All B Free

This album will give fans music from the icon that has never been heard before. A true gift.


Celebrities Who Were Killed By Their Fans

More From 99.9 KTDY