Louisiana’s New Child Safety Seat Law In Affect August 1st
Louisiana's new child safety seat law goes into effect next week. Here's everything you need to know.
As a father of two precious little girls, I certainly believe there's no such thing as too much safety for our little ones. I'm excited about this new law that goes into effect here in Louisiana starting August 1st. This new law is widely believed to be the very best in the country, so finally, Louisiana is clearly doing something right.
Here are some of the highlights from the law so you can make sure you're doing everything right come August 1st:
- Children under the age of 2 years will be restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat.
- A child who is at least 2 years old and has outgrown the rear-facing seat will be restrained in a forward-facing restraint system with an internal harness.
- A 4-year-old child who has outgrown the forward-facing, internal harness system shall be restrained in a belt-positioning child booster seat.
- At nine years old children who have outgrown the booster seat may use the adult safety belt fastened correctly.
- Children younger than 13 must be in the rear seat of a vehicle when available and properly restrained.