If You Eat Honey Nut Cheerios, Your Cereal Has A Secret
Fans of 'Honey Nut Cheerios, your tasty breakfast cereal has a secret. And it gets worse.
Honey Nut Cheerios contains no nuts. It did till about 2006 but not today. Up until then, the cereal contained ground up almonds, now it contains almond 'flavor'. And get this...the almond flavor DOESN'T COME FROM ALMONDS. The flavor comes from waste products of peaches and apricots.
So why the allergic nut warning on the box? Because people who are allergic to almonds are also allergic to peaches and apricots.
Here's how the label reads:
Whole Grain Oats (Includes The Oat Bran), Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Honey, Brown Sugar Syrup, Salt, Tripotassium Phosphate, Canola And/Or Rice Bran Oil, Natural Almond Flavor. Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopheroils) Added to Preserve Freshness