How Not to Get Caught Sharing Your Netflix Password
Netflix is cracking down on subscribers who share their passwords with family and friends. Netflix is now monitoring you and if you share your account password with others who do not live under your roof, it's just a matter of time before you get caught.
Many Netflix users have already started to see a message from Netflix at login.
If you don't live with the owner of this account, you need your own account to keep watching.-Netflix
Currently, this message will only show up on connected television devices. Netflix will not send out the notification when watching on your phone or laptop just yet...but they will in time.
If a Netflix user does not live with the owner of the account or is not able to verify that they do, Netflix will give them a 30-day free trial and ask them to create their own account. It's not sure how the streaming giant's software knows a user is in the same household or not.
We continue to monitor it, so we're looking at the situation.-Netflix Chief Product Officer Greg Peters in a comment to Newsweek.
Netflix allows up to 4 devices to use one password, so if five people have your password, make sure you're not all using Netflix at the same time. This will cut down your risk of getting caught.
Netflix "terms and conditions" state that your account is for your own personal and non-commercial use only.
May not be shared with individuals beyond your household.-Netflix