American Airlines announced it is suspending flights to 15 cities across the country including Lake Charles. Flights to Lafayette will continue as the airline deals with a massive drop in travel – mainly by business travelers – during the COVID-19 pandemic. It also comes as the requirements of CARES Act grants expire, meaning that the airline can now furlough or layoff employees who are not being utilized.

Here is the full list of cities with suspended service:

  • Del Rio, Texas
  • Dubuque, Iowa
  • Florence, South Carolina
  • Greenville, North Carolina
  • Huntington, West Virginia
  • Joplin, Missouri
  • Kalamazoo, Michigan
  • Lake Charles, Louisiana
  • New Haven, Connecticut
  • New Windsor, New York
  • Roswell, New Mexico
  • Sioux City, Iowa
  • Springfield, Illinois
  • Stillwater, Oklahoma
  • Williamsport, Pennsylvania

In a statement, the company said it's a financial decision

The airline will continue to re-assess plans for these and other markets as an extension of the Payroll Support Program remains under deliberation. The full, updated October schedule will be released Aug. 29, and American anticipates releasing its updated November schedule by late-September.

99.9 KTDY logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

7 Lazy Rivers in Louisiana

More From 99.9 KTDY