The word among users is that Snapchat is a private way to send photos and the viewer can only see the picture for ten seconds and then it goes away forever and can't be seen again. Well... kind of.

Did you read the Privacy Terms when you signed up? What if the recipient takes a screenshot? This comes directly from the Snapshot website:

...there may be ways to access Snaps while still in temporary storage on recipients' devices or, forensically, even after they are deleted. You should not use Snapchat to send messages if you want to be certain that the recipient cannot keep a copy.

 

Read more about it on the MacRumors website.

Snapchat has been criticized for encouraging 'sexting.'