Contact Us

UPDATE: A List of Qualifying Lafayette Parish School Board Candidates

Election Day, iStock
Election Day, iStock

[This story will be continuously updated until qualifying closes on Friday, Aug. 22, at 4:30 p.m..]

Aug. 20. As of 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, 11 candidates filed paperwork for positions on the Lafayette Parish School Board.

Eight of those candidates announced campaigns before qualifying began, but new candidate Britt Latiolais announced he’ll challenge incumbent Kermit Bouillion for his District 5 seat, and attorney Dawn Morris will run for the District 7 seat held by Mark Cockerham, who announced his candidacy earlier this month. (IND Media reported Morris was previously employed by the Lafayette Parish School System as special litigation counsel.) Another newcomer, Simon Mahan, will challenge Tommy Angelle for District 2.

District 1 incumbent Mark Allen Babineaux won’t be seeking another term on the board, as he’s filed papers to run against Assistant District Attorney Michelle Meaux-Breaux for a 15th Judicial District judgeship. Greg Awbrey, District 6, and Rae Trahan, District 9, announced at Wednesday’s board meeting that they won’t seek re-election either.

Aug. 21. By Thursday evening, candidate Erica Williams had filed her papers to run against incumbent District 4 Board Member Tehmi Chassion, who also filed paperwork Aug. 21. Incumbent Shelton Cobb filed to run for the District 3 seat, along with incumbent Board President Hunter Beasley, who remains the sole qualifier Thursday for his District 8 position. In District 6, Kathleen Schott Espinoza filed paperwork to run against Justin Centanni.

Qualifiers as of 3 p.m. Friday, Aug. 22:

  • District 1: Mary Morrison; “Coach Don” Gagnard; Redell “Mama” Comeaux Miller
  • District 2: Incumbent Tommy Angelle; Simon Mahan; James A. Chavis
  • District 3: Elroy Broussard; Incumbent Shelton Cobb
  • District 4: Incumbent Tehmi Chassion; Erica Williams
  • District 5: Incumbent Kermit Bouillion; Britt Latiolais
  • District 6: Justin Centanni; Kathleen Schott Espinoza
  • District 7: Incumbent Mark Cockerham; Dawn Morris
  • District 8: Incumbent Board President Hunter Beasley; Erick Knezek
  • District 9: Jeremy Hidalgo; Brian West

Former NAACP Lafayette President Joshua Broussard announced his candidacy for Tehmi Chassion’s District 4 seat, but he didn’t qualify.

NEXT: Lafayette Teachers Waiting On New Materials

Best of KTDY

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KTDY Winners Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KTDY Winners Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.