In light of yesterday's report on the killing of a dog in a Lafayette backyard, a lot of people have asked me about how to take action to prevent a tragedy like this from happening again. I believe the best action is to... construct a reasonable argument and share it with your political leaders. If you feel strongly about this issue or any other, write a letter, make a phone call, or ask for an appointment.

The White House has a petition page, which includes one titled 'Demand justice for police killing our family pets!' If you'd like to sign that, click here.

To participate in a Lafayette Police Department survey (you can add your comments at the end,) click here.

Contact the Lafayette Police Department Training Director:

Sgt. John Miller
Office: (337) 291-7225
Fax: (337) 291-8665

Contact your Lafayette Police Precinct Captain:

Precinct 1 Commander: Captain Luranie Richard

Phone Number: 337-291-5021

Precinct 2 Commander: Captain Ned Fowler
Phone Number: (337) 291-7271
E-mail: Mail to:

Precinct 3 Commander: Captain Levy Firmin
Phone Number: (337) 291-8689

Precinct 4 Commander: Captain Cornell Montgomery
Phone Number: 337-291-5023

If you don't know your precinct, click here to find out.


Here is the Contact Info for the LA Governor's Office:

E-mail the Governor at:

Send written correspondence to:
Office of the Governor
Attn: Constituent Services
P.O. Box 94004
Baton Rouge, LA. 70804-9004

Phone: 225-342-0991, 225-342-7015 , or toll-free 866-366-1121
Fax: 225-342-7099

Here is the Contact Info for Lafayette City Parish Council Members:

District 1: Kevin Naquin, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8801

District 2:Jay Castille, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8802

District 3: Brandon Shelvin, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8803

District 4: Kenneth P. Boudreaux, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8804

District 5: Jared Bellard, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8805

District 6: Andy Naquin, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8806

District 7: Donald L. Bertrand, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8807

District 8: Keith Patin, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8808

District 9: William G. Theriot, Council Member
Phone: (337) 291-8809

If you don't know your elected officials, click here and here to find out who they are.