Contact Us

Lafayette, Louisiana Election Results

Darren Hauck/Getty Images

Here are the results for Lafayette Parish in the 2011 October general election. These are complete yet unofficial results, with all 122 precincts reporting. Lafayette Parish Clerk of Court Louis Perret reports 34% of Lafayette Parish voters turned out.

Sheriff’s Race: Incumbent Mike Neustrom retains his seat with 66% of the vote. Rick Chargois garnered 34% of the vote.

City-Parish President: Incumbent Joey Durel wins reelection with 63% of the vote to Mike Stagg’s 37%.

City-Parish Council District 1: Kevin Naquin wins the vacant seat left by Purvis Morrison garnering 71% of the vote, to Jay Caldwell’s 29%.

City-Parish Council District 2: Incumbent Jay Castille was unopposed.

City-Parish Council District 3: Incumbent Brandon Shelvin defeats Lloyd Rochon, finishing with 60% of the vote.

City-Parish Council District 5: Incumbent Jared Bellard retains his seat garnering 53% of the vote to Britt Latiolais’ 47%.

City-Parish Council District 6: Incumbent Sam Dore (25%) was ousted by challengers Andy Naquin (43%) and Jared Doise (32%). Naquin and Doise will now face off in the November runoff.

City-Parish Council District 7: Incumbent Don Bertrand defeated his two opponents Joan Beduze (28%) and J.P. Morgan (13%) garnering 60% of the vote. City-Parish Coucil District 8: Challenger Craig Spikes (39%) fails to unseat incumbent Keith Patin (61%).

City-Parish Council District 9: William Theriot was the 6th incumbent to retain his seat on the council. Theriot won with 53% of the vote to Walter Campbell’s 47%.

The proposition to amend the Home Rule Charter (commonly referred to as Deconsolidation) has failed. 63% voted down the proposition to 37% who voted in favor.

The School Board Property Tax Millage has failed, with 69% voting No and 31% Yes.

More election coverage at

Best of KTDY

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KTDY Winners Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KTDY Winners Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.